Pen and/bowl turning

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

doughpat
Silver Member

Pen and/bowl turning

Post by doughpat »

Hi all,

I'm trying to decide whether a ShopSmith is going to suit me, or if a dedicated wood lathe is in order.

In particular, I'd like to be able to turn pens and bowls. I am a beginner...have turned a few spindles just for fun, but would like to make a few gifts for family.

I've seen Youtube videos showing some kind of attachment/accessory ("Mandril"?) for turning pens, but i've never seen a bowl done (i.e. holding the piece only from the driven side).
ChrisNeilan
Platinum Member

Re: Pen and/bowl turning

Post by ChrisNeilan »

Disclaimer- i have two dedicated lathes and three Shopsmiths. I usually stick to the lathes for turning, but occasionally use a Shopsmith. My Powerpro and 10er are decent as lathes. They both can turn very slow. The Mark V, not so much. Good for spindles, too fast for safe turning on larger out of balance bowls. A speed reducer would help.
Chris Neilan

Shopsmith Mark 7, Shopsmith Mark V 1982, shortened, Shopsmith 10 ER; Craftsman table saw (1964); Powermatic 3520B lathe
Hobbyman2
Platinum Member

Post by Hobbyman2 »

Harbor freight has a decent mini lathe for pens, not good for large diameter bowls .

Same with JET or other big name tools.
Hobbyman2 Favorite Quote: "If a man does his best, what else is there?"
- General George S. Patton (1885-1945)
wa2crk
Platinum Member

Post by wa2crk »

There is really no obstacle to using the Shopsmith as a pen lathe. Smaller items generally are turned at a higher speed so the 700RPM at the low end is OK. Larger items do present a problem with balance. Sometimes a larger bowl can be rough balanced using the bandsaw. The smaller lathes such as the Delta, Rikon and the Jet can be problematic with larger unbalanced bowls or any unbalanced turnings.