Building a back porch - advice needed

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

heathicus
Platinum Member

Building a back porch - advice needed

Post by heathicus »

This is more carpentry than woodworking, but I thought I would ask here anyway...

We're moving soon and one of the first things I need to do is build a back porch. I've never built a deck/porch before, so I read a few "tutorial" type pages online. But those pages just don't seem to answer many of my questions. So I was hoping you guys could help.

My plan is to use 4"x4" support posts, concreted in the ground. Those tied together with a 2"x6" support beam. On top of that would be 2"x6" floor joists. On top of that would be 3/4" tongue & groove plywood. It will also be screened in with a roof. Since there's just not room in the house, one end of the porch will hold our deep freeze and extra refrigerator. Overall size will be about 20' long by 10' deep. My questions...

How far apart should the support posts be? Should I add extra support beams under the fridge & freezer?

I plan on spacing the floor joists on 12" centers under the fridge & freezer. Is that adequate? Is 16" centers acceptable for the rest of the porch?

I don't need the porch to last a lifetime. A five year lifespan is all I'm expecting from it. That said, should I beef up the support posts or beams and go to 6"x6" posts or 2"x10" beams?
Heath
Central Louisiana
-10ER - SN 13927, Born 1949, Acquired October 2008, Restored November, 2008
-10ER - SN 35630, Born 1950, Acquired April 2009, Restored May 2009, A34 Jigsaw
-Mark V - SN 212052, Born 1986, Acquired Sept 2009, Restored March 2010, Bandsaw
-10ER - SN 39722, Born 1950, Acquired March 2011, awaiting restoration
beeg
Platinum Member

Post by beeg »

I think I'd go with the 6X6 posts, and remember to dig the hole 1 foot deep for every 2 foot in height.