Using the lathe

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

paul heller
Gold Member

Using the lathe

Post by paul heller »

Woohoo! I just got a set of lathe tools and a live center from Shopsmith. They arrived today.

Most of my questions will be asked over in the intermediate woodworking forum as I've been doing this for many years. But as for lathe turning, well I'm a complete newbie.

It looks like I'll be self taught on this. I've seen Norm do it on TV, but never held a lathe tool in my hands before. Any advice or tips on how to get started and how to figure this out myself?

Thanks.

Paul
thewriteturn
Silver Member

Turning Newbie

Post by thewriteturn »

Hi Paul, from another Paul. If you got the instuction book when you bought th SS, there should be a section in it on turning. Very basic stuff but enough to get you going. That's what I used when I started. Practice on some softwood til your comfortable. When I started I used the book and tuned a fitted lid box, out of some scrap that I have know idea came from. The lid still snaps on and its been almost 10 yrs. My first real turnings were a chess set out of walnut and maple. Practice each piece on scrap til I was satisfied on the technique to do each, the bishop was the hardest as it was turned between centers, with the top being turned off center than back on center. I'm sure others will chime in with more info as there is know one way to learn. Practice, practice, practice and oh yea, make sure you have SHARP TOOLS. Good Luck and let us know how you do.:)

Paul
dickroan
Silver Member

Post by dickroan »