Where is the best place to buy/find wood

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

woodhead52
Gold Member

Where is the best place to buy/find wood

Post by woodhead52 »

If this question doesn't scream NEWBIE :eek:, I don't know what does.
I'm just finishing the maintenance, inventory and repairs on my new-to-me 520 (a 1993 Upgraded), I haven't even established that I have all of the lathe pieces yet. I'm making a parts list as I go to avoid ordering piecemeal. I also have a SS jointer and bandsaw, and DC. Just bought everything last Sunday from a widow. So, neither she or her nephew who was helping her really knew much about the equipment.

So yeah, I'm pretty new to this wood working stuff. (Learning a lot though from this awesome forum)

I'm not new to building however, so construction material I know. Lowes, Home Depot, etc, unfortunately there aren't to many lumber yards around anymore. So, where is the best place to buy nice plywood, or the white sided pressed stuff (sorry I've seen the initials, but memory fails me) used for some jigs, cabinets, etc?

I've seen exotic woods at Woodcraft, but they seem very expensive, and I don't think I'm ready for that kind of nice wood yet. I want to get a few easier builds under me before I get into that kind of stuff.

So what kind of stores or other avenues to get some wood am I looking for? I'd love to hear from those of you in the know. I'm excited to begin making some sawdust! :D

Thanks
Woodhead
Just a chip off the ol' block!

1993 SS Mark V 510 with a 520 Upgrade, 520 Extension Fence (2) Extension Tables, (4) Floating Tables (4) connecting tubes (2) SS Band Saw, SS Jointer, SS Belt Sander, SS Power Station, SS DC3300
charlese
Platinum Member

Post by charlese »

Around here, I find Window and/or molding suppliers buy lumber to make their products. They may be congenial to sell you some lumber - even make special orders for you.