phone  (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Forums

%nbsp;

6 posts • Page 1 of 1

SCROLL SAW TABLE INSERT

#274547 by FraudDog » Wed Sep 16, 2020 8:32 pm

I came upon an almost unused stand alone SS scroll/jig saw. It is missing the 3 inch round table insert and have had no luck trying to find one.

Anyone have one to sell? Anyone know where I can get one?

I am new to SS so I may be asking many questions in the future and I always find forums of like minded folks the best way to gain information.

Thanking everyone in advance

Post a reply  Reply with quote 

Re: SCROLL SAW TABLE INSERT

#274561 by chapmanruss » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:08 pm

Welcome to the Forum.

First it is important to know if you have a Jig Saw or a Scroll Saw. There is a difference even though many people use the names as the same tool. The picture below is a Shopsmith Jig Saw. I happens to be a Greenie from 1957 that I restored. Later they were painted in the Goldie paint scheme in the early 1960's. After that they were painted gray with a black arm.

Jig Saw 1957 Greenie.jpg
Jig Saw 1957 Greenie.jpg (99.44 KiB) Viewed 86 times
If this is what you have than the Table Insert is Part Number 502254 which is no longer available new from Shopsmith. It will have to be found used.

If you have a Scroll Saw like the one shown in the picture below or the earlier gray one (bottom picture), you will need part number 515196 which is no longer available new from Shopsmith. The newer Scroll Saws, as seen in the picture below, have a slot cut in the table and no longer have a need for an insert.

Scroll Saw - teal.jpg
Scroll Saw - teal.jpg (23.85 KiB) Viewed 86 times
A gray Scroll Saw table is shown below and you can see the table insert it uses.

Scroll Saw Block Holder.jpg
Scroll Saw Block Holder.jpg (108.77 KiB) Viewed 86 times
Both the Gray and Teal Scroll Saws have had versions made mounted on a stand and for Mark Mounting.

---

Russ

Mark V completely upgraded to Mark 7
Mark V 520
All SPT's & 2 Power Stations