phone   (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

556120 - H&L AO Snd Pkg

Hook and Loop Aluminum Oxide Disc Sanding Fastening Package. Includes (1) 555102 H&L conversion disc and (2) 555623 assorted H&L ao sandpaper discs. A total of 6 fine, 4 medium, and 2 coarse discs.


Click Here For More Information on 556120 - H&L AO Snd Pkg

Name / RatingReview
Name: Neil
Location: California
Submitted on: 2017-04-10
Rating: 1 out of 5
Don't waste your money! I wish I would have bought 2 more steel discs and used the original sanding discs so I would have one for each grit. My first pass using this new method met with disaster. I was using the course grit and sanding 1/32" on a piece of 2" x 3" maple. As soon as I fed the wood into the disc, the sandpaper portion separated from the "hook" and cut into the wood and the wood then removed about 1/4" of the "hook" portion leaving it useless. Now none of the sanding discs adhere to the 1/4" outside portion of the disc (hook) so the entire thing is useless to me. I am very disappointed with this and am planning to return it, but I have to remove the piece that is attached to the steel disc, not sure how that's going to work out. The other problem is getting the plastic off of the sticky piece that adheres to the steel. It was really stuck on there & I didn't want to get my thumb or fingers stuck to it. I had to clean & use a pair of pliers to hold it! It would be much easier if they made the plastic in 2 pieces, like that of a bandage, so you could remove half and get it started on the steel & then remove the other half as you continue to stick it to the steel. I think this system is a great idea, but certainly needs some modifications.
Name: john
Location: colorado
Submitted on: 2014-03-28
Rating: 1 out of 5
I thought I was ordering 12" velcro sanding discs but received psa discs instead. You're online catalog is almost impossible to navigate when looking for sanding discs and then seems to have no listing for velcro discs by themselves. Shopsmith used to be one of the most user friendly companies I've ever dealt with. So much for that happy thought.
Name: Victor Hoops
Location: Arvada , Co
Submitted on: 2014-03-21
Rating: 5 out of 5
Name: Victor Hoops
Location: Arvada , Co
Submitted on: 2014-03-21
Rating: 1 out of 5
I'm a shopsmith user since l957 and all I wanted to do was order some sanding discs for my 12 inch velcro sanding disc. I stayed withyou through all you bankruptskies and glad you survived but please make it easy to order something. I'm sure you can tell I'm a bit peturbed. My catlog order No. was 555623 . Perhaps I need to give up on your system. Vic Hoops
Name: jabusse
Location: \long Beach, CA
Submitted on: 2014-03-18
Rating: 5 out of 5
\i agree that the edges come loose causing uneven sanding. \i like the old way too even though it is a bit messy. There are spray adhesives available made by 3M that does the trick and goop is a great cleaner to get the residue off when you need to change.
Name: Charles Rawle
Location: Richmond, TX
Submitted on: 2013-12-02
Rating: 1 out of 5
I have not been happy with the Velcro system. It does not stay glued on the edges. They come loose, sawdust gets trapped in there and the result is uneven sanding pressure. I prefer the old liquid adhesive, but Shopsmith does not sell it any longer and cannot tell me where to get it. I still have lots of plain paper, but cannot get the adhesive.
Name: reginald bitner
Location: marion ks.
Submitted on: 2012-10-23
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had my shopsmith mark V since 1984 and i enjoy every thing it does. Right know I am in the middle of making picture frames out of old barn wood. All that i have made so far everybody loves them.
Name: Bill Parker
Location: Cecilia, Kentucky
Submitted on: 2011-12-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had had my Shopsmith (and a bunch of stand-alone Shopsmith tools: jig saw, band saw, jointer, scroll saw!) for many years and absolutely love it. One of the big improvements I have made to my Shopsmith was adding the velcro accessory to the sanding disc. What a great idea! Changing sanding discs is as easy as - well, as peeling one off and pressing another one on! The Shopsmith velcro sanding disc has given me many years of trouble-free service. Try it yourself!

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- (937) 890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required