phone   (937) 890-5197

Technical Support (937) 890-5197
FREE
D-I-Y Support
ENGINEERING
SUPPORT
CUSTOMER
REPAIR

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

555811 - Universal Lathe Tool

Universal+Lathe+Tool

Shopsmith's Universal Lathe Tool Rest is the most stable, most versatile lathe tool rest you'll find anywhere -- period! Its unique "triple-jointed" design lets you swing the arm and support in any direction to position your tool rest deep within the deepest bowls, vases or goblets - even around the back side of large diameter faceplate or chuck-mounted turnings. Weighing-in at a full 35 pounds, this heavy, cast iron Tool Rest System gives you all the rock-solid lathe tool support and "reach" you'll ever need.


Click Here For More Information on 555811 - Universal Lathe Tool

Name / RatingReview
Name: Coye Lucky
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Submitted on: 2018-12-09
Rating: 1 out of 5
I have placed 2 orders and both have resulted in money being returned or no product shipping with no explanation. I have sent emails with no response. Phone calls and messages with no answer or return calls. This is very disappointing as I am in need of several items and I want to buy from the manufacturer. Any help with this matter would be appreciated. Thank you.
Name: Chief
Location: Tex
Submitted on: 2017-01-09
Rating: 5 out of 5
For all turners that gave it a 5 of 5, I agree totally. A new method of attachment would be nice.
Name: SSGJim
Location: Missouri
Submitted on: 2016-08-21
Rating: 1 out of 5
this tool has changed a 16inch lathe to around 6 or 8 inch lathe. it is not wort5h buying less you just want to turn pens or other small projects.
Name: Ricon456
Location: Michigan
Submitted on: 2016-02-22
Rating: 2 out of 5
Bought universal tool rest after receiving it seems to be a problem with the short arm where the roll pin is. this arm dose not have a way to tighten so it has a tendency to wiggle a bit and vibrate causing problems when trying to make cuts. submitted a request for info though tech support have not heard anything after several days and it says will respond within 24hr. think this might be a defect or pour design for this tool.
Name: John C
Location: Sanford NC
Submitted on: 2016-01-25
Rating: 4 out of 5
Got it today - installed it in about 10 minutes including making sure everything fit together well without any binding. Easy mount on the carriage but the bottom of the tool rest rubs the top of the base mount. To prevent scratching the finish, I'll probably remedy this by cutting a spacer to fit between the tool rest base and carriage. This looks to be a great solution to the awkward angles/multiple adjustments necessary on the standard tool rest when working on bowls.
Name: Don
Location:
Submitted on: 2014-09-25
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just received it recently. Took about 5 minutes to assemble. Is very stable and easy to manipulate. Does not cause any vibration. Worth the money.
Name: manwithdog
Location: United States
Submitted on: 2014-01-03
Rating: 4 out of 5
The universal tool rest is a huge improvement over the standard or upgraded tool rest both of which had major problems. In particular, the standard and upgraded tool rests would rotate in the table support tube. The universal tool rest eliminates this problem and should be standard equipment with the shopsmith. It's easy to get the tools where I need them on the workpiece. I rated this 4 stars because it has to be removed to resume sawing operations which requires using a 1/4" allen wrench to remove the two mounting screws.
Name: Marv Linke
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Submitted on: 2013-10-18
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very high quality. Good steel and well machined. Enhances wood turning I immensely.
Name: TwoBlocked
Location: PA
Submitted on: 2013-08-26
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is a definate improvement over the ordinary tool rest, but not really great. There is inherent slop in the short arm. Something that I found helps is to remove the short arm and get an after market tool rest with a 1 inch post. It will fit directly into the long arm, but does make the positioning of the tool rest challenging with short, small diameter turnings. I am not sure the extra weight helps as much as you would think. If something is vibrating, it is the wood, not the rest. There are ways to deal with vibrating wood that have nothing to do with the tool rest. Still, it is much better than the stock tool rest.
Name: Alan
Location: Texas
Submitted on: 2013-03-10
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent upgrade for turning on the Shopsmith. The flexibility of putting the different tool rest where you want them is just pure joy. It is solid. It will increase your ability for quality turning. Happy turns!
Name: odug8
Location: Midwest
Submitted on: 2012-05-22
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used the Universal Tool Rest for many years and recommend it highly. If something is not moving smoothly, it is not set up properly. This product makes all my turning easier, safer, and more enjoyable. to me it is a must have for all Shopsmith owners who want to move beyond small spindle work.
Name: Gunney
Location:
Submitted on: 2011-07-12
Rating: 1 out of 5
Awful. The tool does not rotate smoothly, it loses position constantly, and does not seem durable. I would recommend some other product. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Name: Ernest Kouba
Location:
Submitted on: 2010-12-21
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am totally impressed with my universal lathe tool rest! I can set the chisel rest any where I want in just seconds. There is no movement of the chisel rest when I am rounding out pieces of local wood.This means I can concentrate on turning, without having to watch for tool rest movement. Except for having to use an allen wrench to mount the assembly on my Shopsmith, I am very pleased with it and would recommend the universal lathe tool rest to anyone with a Shopsmith.

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- (937) 890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required