Shopsmith Oscillating Sander

Create a review for a woodworking tool that you are familiar with (Shopsmith brand or Non-Shopsmith) or just post your opinion on a specific tool. Head to head comparisons welcome too.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

mbcabinetmaker
Platinum Member

Shopsmith Oscillating Sander

Post by mbcabinetmaker »

I have really never given this SPT a look but I recently sold my Jet oscillating sander because I just did not like it. I am thinking of buying one if it ever goes on sale. Does anyone here have one and if so how smoothly does it operate? I disliked the jet because it had a good bit of vibration.

Mark

2017 Power Pro Mark 7
2002 50th anniversary model 520
and a few other woodworking tools.
fixit
Gold Member

Post by fixit »

I have one and find it works well for the projects I've built so far. But I'm not a high production operation so I don't know how it would work in that situation.

I have to review the instructions each time I set it up because it's not an everyday thing and I tend to forget things if I sleep between the times I use something. Not sure but I think the thinning hair has something to do with that.:rolleyes: I don't recall having that problem years ago - but then I was younger then...
----------------------------------------
Leonard
La Vernia, TX
Wood Goods - Custom Woodwork
EMAIL: woodgoods "at" lavernia "dot" net
PowerPro 520, PowerPro 500 (was my father's 500), SS jointer, SS Mark V mount planer, SS bandsaws (2), belt sander, scroll saw, SS jig saws (2), strip sander, Jointech system, 12" Delta Compound Miter Saw, a small collection of routers, a router table and a Delta Unisaw. All in a 24' x 24' shop.
reible
Platinum Member

Post by reible »

Hi,

I have one and like it. Not sure if it would meet your needs on a professional level.