Not SS but maintenance advice needed

Forum for Maintenance and Repair topics. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

fiatben
Platinum Member

Not SS but maintenance advice needed

Post by fiatben »

I'm trying to wire up a stick welder (arc welder). The welder is an old Craftsman with a primary of 220V/1Ph, rated at 55 amps. I have a range receptacle rated at 50 amps and a double breaker (both sides trip if one leg overloads) rated at 60 amps. And, I have questions:

1. Is the receptacle (at 50 amps) good enough for the welder (at 55 amps)?

2. Is the breaker right, or overkill? (Is that 60 amps per leg or 60 amps overall?)

3. Is 10-3 w/ground sufficient for the load? (The power to the building is on 10-3 w/ground)

4. Does anyone have a manual for a Craftsman 113.201250 Colormatic welder? Or know anything about them?

Thanks, guys. I'm an amateur electrician at best and just a bit unsure of myself, so I'm looking for guidance.
'55 Greenie #292284 (Mar-55), '89 SS 510 #020989, Mark VII #408551 (sold 10/14/12), SS Band Saw, (SS 500 #36063 (May-79) now gone to son-in-law as of 11-11), Magna bandsaw, Magna jointer 16185 (May-54), Magna belt sander SS28712 (Dec-82), Magna jigsaw SS4397 (Dec-78), SS biscuit joiner, Zyliss (knockoff) vise, 20+ hand planes, 60s Craftsman tablesaw, CarbaTec mini-lathe, and the usual pile of tools. Hermit of the Hills Woodworks, a hillbilly in the foothills of the Ozarks, scraping by.
Ed in Tampa
Platinum Member

Post by Ed in Tampa »

fiatben wrote:I'm trying to wire up a stick welder (arc welder). The welder is an old Craftsman with a primary of 220V/1Ph, rated at 55 amps. I have a range receptacle rated at 50 amps and a double breaker (both sides trip if one leg overloads) rated at 60 amps. And, I have questions:

2. Is the breaker right, or overkill? (Is that 60 amps per leg or 60 amps overall?)

3. Is 10-3 w/ground sufficient for the load? (The power to the building is on 10-3 w/ground)