Heath's Woodworking Projects

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

heathicus
Platinum Member

Heath's Woodworking Projects

Post by heathicus »

Yeah, I'm copying MickyD again. Sue me!

[ATTACH]8739[/ATTACH]

I had wanted to make the same lanterns that MickyD is making for my mom for Christmas. I just didn't have time, so I moved it to Mother's Day. And here I am, a week before Mother's Day and I'm just getting started. Made good progress today, though, and experienced a few woodworking "firsts" for me.

This was my first time to work with a good quality hardwood. Previously, I've always used pine lumber from Lowes, MDF, or fought with recycled pallet wood. But for this project, I used some African Mahogany that mbcabinetmaker was kind enough to send quite a few months ago.

This was also the first time to use a good, quality saw blade. I used a Freud Avanti thin kerf blade. What a nice change over the cheap blades from Lowes I've always used! Very smooth cuts and like cutting through butter with a warm knife.

This was also the first time to use a push shoe. I had made one a few months back, but I've been spending my limited shop time with the bandsaw so hadn't had cause to use it. But it was required for these small pieces and gave me much more control than a push stick.

I also learned that I need to learn more about planning my cuts and making the most of my available wood. I ended up wasting a lot more wood than I would have liked to. I hope this is something that comes with experience. I'll discuss that as I go through my progress today.