New to woodworking- possible purchase

Forum for people who are new to woodworking. Feel free to ask questions or contribute.

Moderators: HopefulSSer, admin

nmazzino
Bronze Member

New to woodworking- possible purchase

Post by nmazzino »

Hello all,

I am just getting into woodworking and looking to set up a wood shop in my garage. I have built a few small tables and really enjoyed it. For the last few years I have been doing some milling of oak trees.

I have been looking at various table saws to purchase and found out about the Sawsmith.

I am just looking for a good high level review on the system. I am concerned on the quality/power of the table saw for doing ripping cuts on thick hardwood of up to 2".

Can anyone provide some input on the table saw and the system in general?
It looks like the Mark 7 has more power than the 5.

Thanks so much!
Nick
rjent
Platinum Member

Re: New to woodworking- possible purchase

Post by rjent »

If you are willing to purchase new (and spend the money), a Mark 7 is a must. The SS table saw is known to be one of the weak points, not because of power, but table size and table tilt instead of blade tilt. You need to ask yourself if you will use the table saw for doing tilted blade operations that much. Don't get me wrong, it does a great job, it is just different and is a learning curve. The other functions are outstanding (Lathe, sanding disk, drill press, horizontal boring, and with the M7 the under and over routing).

I also like the machine because of it's size. I have 5 Shopsmith machines in my 20x30 shop which I find handy because I have 5 of every function plus the routing on one of them.

Buy a Mark 5 (even a 500) and use the functions for a while, I think you will get hooked.

There are some amazing woodworkers here (I am not one of them :) ), so you will get a lot of opinions. This post is just mine ....

Welcome to the family.

JMHO
Dick
1965 Mark VII S/N 407684
1951 10 ER S/N ER 44570 -- Reborn 9/16/14