phone  (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

556441 - Quick-Index

Quick-Index Quill Feed Handle - Basic Kit


Click Here For More Information on 556441 - Quick-Index

Name / RatingReview
Name: Bob Riggins
Location: Washington State
Submitted on: 2016-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! Somebody at Shopsmith was thinking when they designed this!
Name: Michael Phillips
Location: Tulsa
Submitted on: 2015-11-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I didn't know how annoying the old handle was. This new handle is excellent. I never would have bought this new handle had I not had a chance to try it out at one of the traveling academies.
Name: W. B.
Location: Providence, UT
Submitted on: 2015-04-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is easy to move the handle out of the way. lThe strong magnet keeps it from falling off. It is one of those conveniences that continue to make woodworking pleasurable.
Name: W. B.
Location: Providence, UT
Submitted on: 2015-04-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is easy to move the handle out of the way. lThe strong magnet keeps it from falling off. It is one of those conveniences that continue to make woodworking pleasurable.
Name: JAX
Location: Texas
Submitted on: 2015-02-25
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great step-up accessory! Keep your old handle and use it on the other side of the shaft.
Name: R. B.
Location: St Paris, Ohio
Submitted on: 2014-11-15
Rating: 4 out of 5
The handle is good for allowing a lot more positions. Also it is good that tools are not needed to change position. However, the magnets are somewhat stronger than needed. It can be somewhat difficult to pull loose.
Name: M. G.
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Submitted on: 2014-11-08
Rating: 5 out of 5
The mounting of the hub in place of the original handle was a breeze. The adjustment of the handle position is very easy and secure.
Name: M. F.
Location: ST PETERS, MO
Submitted on: 2014-10-16
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is extrit is extremly easy to change the handle position
Name: M. S.
Location: Bloomington, IN
Submitted on: 2014-10-07
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a quality product that significantly improves over the time tested three position quill feed handle. It is secure, positive, and the rare earth magnet is incredibly strong yet quite easily disengaged to reposition to one of ten positions versus the former three position older handle. If you use the quill feed frequently treat yourself to this upgrade.
Name: C. H.
Location: League City, Texas
Submitted on: 2014-10-06
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy way to position handle when drilling etc. This was a great idea and whoever thought of it should be given a least gold star and much more for inventing such a device.
Name: C. A.
Location: Globe, Arizona
Submitted on: 2014-10-05
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very handy when you need it, gone and out of the way when you don't. Extra positions are particularly handy when using in the vertical mode (drilling, overhead routing, etc.).
Name: G. I.
Location: Susanville, CA
Submitted on: 2014-10-04
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to install. Easy to use. I like that I can change sides quickly, also I can now move the handle when it's in the way.
Name: C. W.
Location: Lancaster, California
Submitted on: 2014-10-03
Rating: 4 out of 5
I scored it a 4 out of 5 for one reason only. The hub fitting onto the quill feed shaft does not perfectly align the allen screw to the indents in the shaft. When the hub is pushed onto the shaft until bottoming out the screw will hit on the inside shoulder of the recesses. Although it is a simple matter to slide the hub outward and align the screw with an indent, it should not be necessary. Manufacture of the hub has drilled the shaft hole about 3/32" to 1/8" too deep. I will insert a small flat washer into the hub to fill most of that space, making it easier to align the allen screw to a recess in the shaft. OK! once attached, there should never again be a need to try to make such an alignment. The Hub should stay put forever as long as I apply Locktite to the allen screw. It is a good thing the allen screw has a round point which fits the recesses. My review of the "handle portion" of the Quick-index Quill Feed Handle is EXCELLENT!!! Having tried many ways to pull the handle off by pulling on the handle I have found the only way is to pull the handle off straight along the axis of the quill feed shaft. This exercise showed me the handle will sit firmly attached to the hub regardless of rough use.
Name: R. M.
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Submitted on: 2014-10-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simple installation. I purchased two of the adapters and have eliminated the frustration of having to unscrew a handle to change sides. No more problems with a loose handle slipping out of the detent. The magnetic coupling is strong yet easy to change . With the multiple alignment holes it is easy to find the correct position for the stroke you need. Position not quite right, simply reposition with a firm tug and twist. Love this addition to my Shopsmith. It should be a standard feature on all new sales.
Name: W. B.
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Submitted on: 2014-10-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easily installed and works perfectly. Must have upgrade.
Name: C. P.
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Submitted on: 2014-10-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just received and installed mine yesterday. I like it and it should be more convenient than the old way. WISH IT WERE DRILLED WITH TWO MORE HOLES SO I COULD INSTALL A TOTAL OF THREE ARMS WHEN DOING DRILL PRESS WORK AND NOT HAVE TO TAKE THE MOUNT OFF TO THEN USE MY DRILL PRESS HANDLE. I could have just installed those handles if there were threaded holes!
Name: D. G.
Location: Blairstown, NJ
Submitted on: 2014-10-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simple installation took less than 45 seconds (if that long). Simple to use (pull handle assembly off, reinstall using a more convenient position). Needless to say, it's a great modification which just may one-up the Power Pro (just kidding).
Name: J. L.
Location: Texarkana, Arkansas
Submitted on: 2014-10-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
What I like most about this fabulous upgrade is it does exactly what you designed to do. I allows me to move the handle where it best suites me very quickly AND on either side since I bought the kit. Next to the PPro upgrade this upgrade though much less expensive and complex is a real time and frustration saver. Thanks Shopsmith!!!
Name: K. S.
Location: Gerald, MO
Submitted on: 2014-10-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
Installation was easy. My older handle was hard to keep tight. The easy repositioning of the new arm as well as the easy of moving to the opposite side is an advantage when vertical drilling and horizontal boring. It also can be easily repositioned so that it is not blocking the control panel.
Name: J. C.
Location: Onawa, IA
Submitted on: 2014-09-30
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was easy to attach and is made of high quality material. I am sure it will work just fine.
Name: C. L.
Location: La Grange, TX
Submitted on: 2014-09-30
Rating: 5 out of 5
The old handle would loosen very easily whereas this handle stays where it is put via the magnet. This is a very welcome improvement.
Name: W. K.
Location: Kinston, NC
Submitted on: 2014-09-30
Rating: 5 out of 5
It fits and functions as advertised. I got two indexers because it wouldn't be quick or convenient to have to find my hex wrench, uscrew it and move it to the opposite side. In fact, I don't see how it would be quicker or more convenient than the original handle without having two indexers preinstalled. I guess it's stupid to ask why the original handle couldn't have used a knobbed set screw rather than recessed, requiring a hex wrench???
Name: D. G.
Location: Ridge Manor, FL
Submitted on: 2014-09-30
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to install, easy to change handle position &/or location. Appears to be worth the investment.
Name: B. R.
Location: Monroeville, Indiana
Submitted on: 2014-09-29
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like the index aspect. The rare earth magnet has good sripping power. I purchased the kit in order to switch the handle from one side to the other. There is no slippage which is something I had experienced with the three-way handle and the one which hile originally came with the machine. This is a very worthwhile upgrade.
Name: J. A.
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Submitted on: 2014-09-28
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the increased adjustability and ease of removal of the quill handle. In general with the Shopsmith, you gain with a small machine that does a lot of work, but at the cost of having to adjust a lot, turn a lot of knobs and more things around as you change from one tool to another. This handle removes one of those tedious processes to adjust and change the position of a key control lever of the machine. making the change instant and effortless. What I did not like is that the milling of the hub was not accurate. The aluminum handle component did not fit over the black steel indexing hub without a lot of force. I stopped with only a few mm inserted- had I forced it all the way on it probably would have gotten stuck on and very difficult to remove. It seems that without whatever black coating was applied to the hub, it might have fit well, but it had to be forced on. I had to mount the black hub in a lathe and spin it while using sandpaper to polish off the black coating and probably some metal as well from the tip of the hub that inserts into the aluminum handle assembly to get it to fit properly. Having done that, it fits fine. Cosmetically, I would have appreciated if the handle was identical to the original red handle in shape and color so that the Shopsmith retains it's vintage look. Also, if the aluminum handle assembly were less industrial looking and designed in the style of the rest of the machine. It looks very out of place. Perhaps that should be an option.
Name: J. P.
Location: Kailua, hi
Submitted on: 2014-09-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
It works! It's easy. It's solid, certain, sure, new but not new, as in there are no new disadvantages I can see. It's off and on in a trice, without tools (or directions). And it SOLVES a problem. I always (or almost always) get a charge & a grin when I open a new part or tool, but this thing almost broke my face!
Name: J. G.
Location: columbus, Georgia
Submitted on: 2014-09-27
Rating: 3 out of 5
Name: J. J.
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Submitted on: 2014-09-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
Solves the problem I have of having to relocate the quill handle after a setup, Or several times during the operation of a setup. I often had a "sloppy quill handle" slipping during feed in an operation.
Name: P. T.
Location: Rindge, NH
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy install, quicker removal and adjustments, easier swapping from side to side, magnetic attachment to metal surface when not in use, can be used to retrieve metal items?
Name: J. U.
Location: Norwood, NY
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
The quick index quill feed handle is a vast improvement over the original handle, especially with my power pro headstock. With the original handle, there just was not a convenient position out of the three choices. Either the handle was directly over the touch screen, in a position under the table which made adjustments difficult, or sticking up over the table creating a dangerous work area. Now, with the quick index handle, I can position it almost where ever I want and repositioning it is a snap. Great addition for any headstock, not only the power pro.
Name: R. B.
Location: Longmont, CO
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
Quick and out to the way
Name: P. T.
Location: Clearwater, FL
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great idea that should have been thought of long ago. Definitely makes repositioning the quill handle a bit easier. Should be standard equipment on any new shopsmith. I would have liked it better had it a red handle like the original.
Name: R. C.
Location: Willcox, AZ
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
Many more positions available and once locked in place it doesn't come loose.
Name: J. H.
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy adjustment.
Name: L. W.
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great accessory. It is solidly built, quick and easy to install and a huge improvement over the regular handle. I have easily changed handle positions when boring, using the drill press and for lathe work. It moves into the perfect position and stays there until you move it again. Highly recommend this upgrade.
Name: F. B.
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like being able to position the handle where I want it, not where SS wants it. Right now with the Power Pro I have moved the handle so that it is no longer between the On button and the Confirm button and the Chart button and the Confirm button.
Name: T. T.
Location: PLANO, TEXAS
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I HAVE NOT HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT MUCH SO FAR, BUT I LIKE IT. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN HANDY ON A RECENT PROJECT DONE BEFORE I RECEIVED THE QUICK-INDEX HANDLE.
Name: J. G.
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was easy to install and the fit is well machined. The old style quill feed handle was always in the most awkward position and a bit of a pain to re-position. This new one is fast and easy to work with and has plenty of flexibility. I am glad I got it.
Name: D. M.
Location: Fairfield, Ohio
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the ability to quickly change handle position with no fumbling, twisting and turning in search of a quadrant notch. The increased indexing capability is very handy for different operations. Over the years, I have been frustrated many times with the quadrant spacing limits. Thank you for continuing to innovate and create improvements. Lastly, I like the Shopsmith quality and precision engineering that I've come to expect. Regards, Darrell McAnulty
Name: T. R.
Location: North Highlands, ca
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
This new quill handle gives me much more flexibility. With the magnetic mount I can easily and quickly move the handle to any of the ten positions around the circumference. I can literally change the position in about two seconds as opposed to the original mount which required unscrewing the handle, repositioning and then screwing the handle back in. And by purchasing the extra hub, I also have the ability to place the handle on the other side to operate the quill with my left hand. Also, I can get an extra handle and have a handle mounted each side but at different angular positions, giving me much more control over the quill movement.
Name: R. M.
Location: Superior, Wi
Submitted on: 2014-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
Were was this 38 yrs ago when I bought my Shopsmith?? I love it. Saves a whole lot of time. I switch between Horz & Vert a lot and need to change the handle position each time. Much Much faster and it doesn't work loose like the old handle did. Though about using one on the right side but decided against it ( I use the oscillating drum sander a lot also and would have to remove it each time. Besides I'm left handed and very seldom ever used the right side to move the quill. Very convenient and easy to use. Can set the handle just where you need it quickly and easy.

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- 1-937-890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

First Name: Last Name:
Address:
Optional Extra Address Line:

City: ST: Zip:


Email:
Re-Enter Email Address:
Phone: ( ) -

NO - I do not yet own a MARK 7 or Mark V
YES - I own a MARK 7 or Mark V

Submit