phone   (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

556224 - 4 prem casters

Set of 4 Premium 3" Diameter Casters with template and instructions


Click Here For More Information on 556224 - 4 prem casters

Name / RatingReview
Name: Marana Morgan
Location: Marana AZ
Submitted on: 2018-04-11
Rating: 4 out of 5
Reasonably easy kit to use. No idea what purpose the washes actually perform - I had thought they might be for the stem of the shaft, but won't fit over the lock ring at the top. Once installed the unit rolls much easier. Think I did discover what some users have been reporting. My 510 from 94 was a drop in. The caster carriage on my 1983 project 500 the star pedal (to raise and lower the wheels) is set too close to the old wheels for the new wheels to work without shortening some of the pedals slightly. Old one had gray sides, the newer was just plain metal so you may want to look before ordering and perhaps pickup the entire wheel and carriage if your unit is old enough - or if you can adjust the star pedal move it over about 1" and everything should be fine. I looked on mine, and I can't figure out the set screw assembly and just used the new carriage as my 500 is a parts rig at this point.
Name: Bob
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Submitted on: 2018-02-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm rating this a "Must Have" and "Money Well Spent" item. I always read reviews before purchasing anything and I noted that for the most part anything negative was old, so I took a wait and see approach. Bottom line, the new holes are in the same plane as the old and are located about 1 3/4" higher than the original. Using the paper template, I made my own template out of a piece of scrap wood like the one SS sells for almost $20 for nothing. Not having a partner, I slid the motor and carriage to the end and raised the opposite end and rested it on 2x4s. Repeated this for the other end. Installation out and in was a breeze. Despite my Mark V being made in 1993 the old casters came out with little effort. I never moved my Mark V much before but now it moves effortlessly. Materials, like everything else I've purchased from Shopsmith, are rock solid and of the highest quality. I'm about 10 minutes from the Shopsmith factory. I go and pick everything up. Now if I could just place a "pickup" order online instead of having to be "on hold" for 15 minutes when I call on the phone, I'd be really happy.
Name: Larry
Location: South Carolina
Submitted on: 2018-01-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second Shopsmith that I have upgraded the wheels on. Having no help available, I raised the whole machine an inch or so, blocked up one end of the machine using wooden blocks under the lower way tubes. I then removed the lower leg assembly and completed the alterations on a nice solid workbench. Much easier to center punch and drill this way.
Name: William Colvin
Location: Palm Desert CA
Submitted on: 2017-09-29
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is absolutely the BEST money you will ever spend on your Shopsmith. Get the optional template and drill bit.
Name: Louie
Location:
Submitted on: 2017-06-05
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the premium casters and the drill/bit guide combination. WHAT A DIFFERENCE ! The Mark V moves with very little effort. The drill guide made the job easier, and quicker. One of my favorite upgrades.
Name: Jim Buzard
Location: Illinois
Submitted on: 2016-10-04
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought the metal drill guide, it is off, I have now upgraded 4 Shopsmiths, 1 required 3 washers on the caster spindles to raise it properly, 1 required 2 washers to raise it properly and 2 required 1 washer to raise it to the proper height. I see in the last kit I ordered they included 4 washers. So they know there is a problem.
Name: Mr Glide
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Submitted on: 2016-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've owned a Mark V with the original hard casters for over 20 years and was interested in the "new & improved" casters but was put off by a couple reviews saying that the templates were bad and required rework. I ordered them anyway and inquired whether or not the templates had been "fixed". I got a prompt reply that the templates were fine as long as they were aligned correctly. That response was exactly right. I carefully aligned them, drilled the holes, installed the new casters and watched my Mark V roll across my shop at a fingers pressure! Great product. Thank you Shopsmith.
Name: jmattsson
Location: SC
Submitted on: 2016-08-07
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you have a Mark V, treat yourself to a set of these casters; they're great. Mine arrived on Friday, and I installed them in a about a half hour. The difference between the standard casters and the new ones is worth every penny. The instructions, although heavy on the safety installation warnings, were straight forward and easy to follow. The paper templates made locating the placement of required holes a snap. Although others raved about how easy it was to moved the Shopsmith with the new casters, I was still shocked at the ease with which I could move the machine around the shop. Thank you.
Name: danp
Location: Idaho
Submitted on: 2015-09-28
Rating: 3 out of 5
I ordered the new wheel upgrade. It took nearly 2 months just to get the wheels. But the drill guide is still backordered!! Really, it takes over 2 months to make or have a vendor make a simple drilling guide? I am still waiting. I wouldn't have a vendor that couldn't make a simple drilling guide in a few weeks. If you guys make it then shame on you. Still waiting.....
Name: Timothy Smith
Location: United States
Submitted on: 2015-07-16
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the mark v 500 model greenie and i orderd some parts for it I orderd the speed control handle and the quadrant assembly and i thought this stuff would be higher than it is
Name: rogerpjr
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Submitted on: 2015-07-05
Rating: 4 out of 5
I upgraded the castors on my 1976 Mark V (now a 510) yesterday. The casters themselves are awesome. When I put the Shopsmith in its storage place in the garage it just kept wanting to roll back out by itself until I dropped it down. Never had to do that with the old castors. The only problem I had with the install was like a lot of others, the longer arm kept hitting the new castor. I added a couple flat washers to each of the front posts and everything works fine. I may go back later and grind down the arms. Shopsmith should note this on the installation instructions and supply a couple spacers with the kit.
Name: Ranger_Phil
Location: Auburn, CA
Submitted on: 2015-01-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
For Christmas I got myself the PowerPro upgrade kit, and the increased weight made it even a little clunkier to move my Shopsmith across a rough garage floor, so as soon as I paid the Visa bill Shopsmith put the casters on sale. Go figure. Installation was pretty easy with the templates, but I had to centerpunch the legs pretty hard to keep my drill from wandering. This is a little harder when you're punching formed sheet steel. I also found it helpful to take the powerhead off of the way tubes to make it easier to turn the unit upside down or even on its side. For me it wasn't so much a weight issue as much as I had just installed the PowerPro upgrade and didn't want to scratch or mar the powerhead housing. The bigger wheels are SO MUCH easier to use it's not even close. Plus, my buddy is jealous that they are bright red. No biggie for me, but if can make him jealous, all the better. Oh, last thing. Shopsmith tends to have exorbitant prices for upgrades, but I don't think this is the case for the casters. There's an alternative on ebay with casters that are slightly smaller, but I also priced similar casters through distributors. Shopsmith's kit price was right in line with buying casters directly.
Name: Gil Greenwood
Location: United States
Submitted on: 2015-01-11
Rating: 4 out of 5
These new casters are Awesome. The only problem is the wheels raise the Shopsmith to a height that the Shopsmith cannot be lowered to set on the floor. The fix is to drill a new set of holes for the adjusting mechanism 1.5" higher that the original set. Now I can easily move my Shopsmith around the shop and easily lower it to set solidly on the floor.
Name: John
Location: California
Submitted on: 2015-01-02
Rating: 5 out of 5
Besides the fact that Shopsmith gets to charge more money for the upgrade, I do not see why they are not included with all Shopsmiths. I had upgraded my previous Shopsmith with these wheels when I bought the new powerhead and was really impressed - with both things. I have been running Shopsmiths for about 30+ years and have worn out more than one set of caster wheels by moving on concrete. Turning it over is no big deal, just pick it up and flip it. I'm a big guy. I really liked the drill guide (available for an additional charge) as my experience with these silly tape on templates is less than good. Anyway, love the new wheels, love the installation tool, and appreciate the suggestion of using a couple of washers to help clear the caster bearings. Love the Shopsmith, too. I think this is my 5th one, and I keep coming back. Probably will always own one.
Name: Ronald
Location: Sacramento
Submitted on: 2014-11-15
Rating: 4 out of 5
These casters will not work with the earlier (greenie) versions of the retractable caster assemblies. The foot pedal is too close to the cam and hits the top of the caster bearing housing. This can be remedied by drilling a new hole further away from the cam and repositioning the foot pedal. If you are not a machinist this could be a daunting task.
Name: FrWalt
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Submitted on: 2014-10-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
I purchased my Shopsmith Mark V in 1982 and have used it extensively to the point where the wheels would hardly turn and the unit was very hard to move. I looked up the replacement wheels and was offered the option of upgrading to the premium wheels, which were about $30 more than four replacement wheels. I decided to buy the upgrade -- the best $30 I ever spent. The directions were easy to follow and installation was a breeze. The templates were right on making drilling t
Name: Glenn
Location: Katy, TX
Submitted on: 2014-05-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the metal template and the install couldn't have been easier! Works like a charm. The hardest part was flipping the machine, but my 10-year-old daughter and I turned it over easily. Good upgrade.
Name: Roger
Location: Charleston, Il
Submitted on: 2013-10-29
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since my Mark V is stored under a mobile bench, I'd for a while wanted an easier way to move it out-from-under & back again(not much extra space). Well, I certainly can not say enough about these super-smooth new casters-wow! I quickly figured all I needed for a fairly easy installation was a couple of stacked 2x6's under one leg at a time. This gave me just enough clearance for the larger diameter wheels. was a little leary about turing the unit over especially since my woodworker neighbor wasn't available for help. Only thing there is to get used to is the "new" height of the raise/lower wheel.
Name: E-GAD
Location: Delaware, OH
Submitted on: 2013-10-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
The new casters are great. It is much easier to roll around as I leave the jointer on one end and the bandsaw on the other. TIP-1 Make a copy of the templates to use and save the originals. Just make sure your printer makes the same size templates. Hold the new over the top of the original and hold to light. Tip-2 Remove any accessories such as jointer or bandsaw and leave the machine upright. Place power head in center and lock. Retract the casters so the Mark V is solid on the floor in its normal working position. Leave it this way. Pry out the old casters with a screwdriver. You may have to lift the end of the machine with a foot long piece of 2X4 (one end at a time). Gather all tools per instructions and get cozy on the floor. Follow the instructions for placing the template after cutting it out. PLACE, TAPE, MARK, AND DRILL VERY CAREFULY. Remember the small end of the template goes toward the floor. Tip-3 A spring loaded center punch works great for marking the new holes. Use a small drill for starting holes and the larger drill to finish each hole. Once drilled, the edges of all four holes, 2 old and 2 new should all line up using a straightedge. If not, you may have trouble getting the rounded over edges of the legs into the slots on the lifting mechanism and still have the new holes lined up. After bolting on the lifting mechanism, lift the machine with a 2X4 while inserting the casters. Tip-4 If you have an older machine like mine and one of the lifting arms hits the caster, just lift and remove the casters and place one or two 1/16" washers on the caster pin and reinsert. Tip-5 Use good judgment while doing this upgrade and don't do anything you don't feel comfortable doing or something that doesn't seem right. This is a very worthwile upgrade that makes your Shopsmith glide like butter. Just make sure the wheels are retracted prior to using the machine or injury could result. Thanks Shopsmith - Great upgrade and worth every penny.
Name: Flycast
Location: Upstate New York
Submitted on: 2013-08-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the casters after seeing how well they moved a Mark 7 at a demo show 10 days ago. As I read the reviews, I was wondering why some grinding was involved and I found out why. I have a 1979 Shopsmith where the star levers are positioned closer to the lifting cam but clear the plastic casters. The new caster tops are much wider and the same lever canât get passed the head. I found an answer by stacking 2 washers(1/2")to the caster posts. I added them only to the casters on the lever side and this extended the height away from the offending lever. This solution worked for me and I would suggest Shopsmith to provide 2 spacers as an option. In addition, I wish Tech support could have given me this solution when I called but overall the casters are wonderful.
Name: RJ Ledger
Location: New Hampshire
Submitted on: 2013-07-09
Rating: 5 out of 5
New wheels arrived 7-8-2013, by 7pm EDT were installed. What a difference! I always read directions first.. and then devise my own approach. So I installed them with the Shopsmith in it's normal upright position. All it took was a 2x4 and a lever to lift the leg up onto it. Remember to "reverse" your mind on the provided templates (right is left, left is right ;-) The reason for doing it this way is simple - I had just re-aligned the machine.
Name: Texomawood
Location: Texoma, Tx
Submitted on: 2013-05-24
Rating: 5 out of 5
Instructions and template were spot on. The photos were a great aid. I did modify the instructions and lifted my unit on sawhorses instead of turning it upside down. (I didn't have a 2nd body to help me.) It took 45 min from start to finish. Now the unit moves around the shop like it is on ice!!!! Wish I had done this upgrade a long time ago. Why can't the factory drill the extra 4 holes? There are the extra holes for the accessory shelf now.
Name: kEN
Location: Greeley, CO
Submitted on: 2013-05-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
Really works well and templates dead on. I used a large countersink bit instead of a file to debur the holes that I drilled. This makes it easier not to damage the finish. I, also placed one end at a time on a sawhorse with a height extender. My wife and I weren't sure we could handle the machine if we turned it over...all went well.
Name: Dolphin6jr
Location: Clinton, NC
Submitted on: 2013-04-12
Rating: 5 out of 5
My son and I installed the new casters in under an hour, start to finish. It took me longer to wrestle my Shopsmith out of its' location on the old casters!! I didn't find the burring to be a problem as I wriggled the drill bit in a small circle while running the drill to de-burr the holes. I recommend that 2 persons do the job......faster and more fun!!
Name: DW
Location: NH
Submitted on: 2013-03-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fabulous upgrade. I think I'll enter my Shopsmith in a mobile Derby race. I think I'll win. I also have the lift lever catch on a wheel occasionally, but it's no big deal. I just reach down and move it on by. I literally can move the Shopsmith with 1 finger now. Much appreciated.
Name: 1swollenthumb
Location: Katrinaland USA
Submitted on: 2013-03-11
Rating: 5 out of 5
For about 20 years, I've been pushing my shopsmith like I was 90 lbs. pushing a sumo wrestler that didn't want to be moved. Even lately one of the casters was collapsed over a little. making it harder. I finally ordered the upgrade casters awhile ago, but I thought it would be a major project. Yesterday I installed them within a hslf hour and now I can literally push my shopsmith around with 1 finger. Night and Day Difference! V8 moment. Why didn't I do this sooner?
Name: LP
Location: Tennessee
Submitted on: 2013-02-19
Rating: 3 out of 5
Hey Shopsmith engineers...drink some more coffee.... I like the 3" wheels, but I had to grind off one side of the aluminum lift levers to clear the radius of the new caster swivel housings. The levers appear to be difficult to relocate due to blind hole spring pins. It appears that you may need to offer "new" lifting assemblies with the wheels or send a 4-1/2" grinder with the kit with lever modification instructions. Thanks guys.
Name: Clif
Location: Westminster, CO
Submitted on: 2013-02-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! After all the years of having my Shopsmith jump down and scrape when I hit the expansion joints in the floor, these are worth every penny. The installation was only about an hour, and the instructions are very good. My floor is slightly sloped, as are most for drainage. These are so smooth even with some sawdust on the floor the machine starts to creep if I don't lower it. I am impressed!
Name: Bill Walters
Location:
Submitted on: 2013-01-29
Rating: 2 out of 5
I am not impressed by shopsmith technical support on this product I followed the instructions and found the wheels too high. Tech support stated they thought I had the template upside down and would not listen to me explain what I had done. He kept saying put the unit on the ground and use whiteout to mark the hole locations. If that is the way it should be done, put it in the manual. He also refused to send me new templates by email.
Name: Don Epperson
Location: Clovis, CA
Submitted on: 2012-10-10
Rating: 5 out of 5
Casters on my old Mark V were worn out. I received the new ones in a timely manner. I followed the easy instructions and used the template provided for the new mounting holes. It was a piece of cake. Everything fit & functioned perfectly. Total time: 47 minutes, start to finish!!
Name: Bruce Schneider
Location: San Antonio, TX
Submitted on: 2012-09-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
OMG! These new premium casters are absolutely wonderful. When I turned the Shopsmith right side up, it literally rolled away from me. Now it glides across my garage floor like it is on a cushion of air. The instructions are spot on and easy to follow. The only point of confusion was right/left. The instructions indicate right is on your right when facing the on/off switch, but did not clarify if that was before or after it is inverted. Still only took me just under an hour to install them.
Name: P I Jarhead
Location: Hilliard, Ohio
Submitted on: 2012-05-31
Rating: 5 out of 5
These are FANTASTIC ! Two of us installed from start to finish in 41 minutes. It's like pushing on air. Why these haven't been part of the "basic" machine I'll never know. Directions were right on. Had templates for every leg and there wasn't a single hic cup in the whole process. FOLLOW directions and there are no issues.
Name: Wildfire
Location: Georgia
Submitted on: 2012-05-12
Rating: 5 out of 5
At full raise, two of four the "feet" would drag on some areas of my not perfectly level concrete floor. Rather than re-drilling the mounting holes, I used the ends of the old casters. I cut off the ends of the old casters at the brass ring and inserted the 5/16 inch high "plug" in the hole and then inserted the new casters. Everthing seems to be working fine now - as if on an ice rink.
Name: Dennis Brown
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Submitted on: 2012-05-11
Rating: 5 out of 5
After reading some reviews I was a little hesitant. I followed the step by step instructions and it turned out to be very easy without any hitches. WHAT A DIFFERENCE IT MAKES. I DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT JOINTS IN THE FLOOR ANYMORE!!!!
Name: John Howard
Location: Washington
Submitted on: 2012-05-08
Rating: 5 out of 5
This project only took an hour and a half to install. The hardest part is drilling 4 holes in the legs. Follow the direction to turn the machine upside down - I almost had an accident tring to tip the end up on a saw horse. Despite previous reports, the newly corrected template (dated 3/12) places the supporting assembly at the correct height.
Name: Jim
Location: Richmond,VA
Submitted on: 2012-04-17
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was easyer to lift the Shopsmith up on a saw horse on one end at a time instead of turning it over. I had to file one arm of the lift lever to clear the casters in the down position. The casters work great and you can move it around with one finger.
Name: tedgmc
Location: Washington
Submitted on: 2012-03-06
Rating: 5 out of 5
Can premium wheels be used with retractible wheel controll provided with the old casters?
Name: GulfGhost
Location: Florida
Submitted on: 2012-02-11
Rating: 5 out of 5
Installed location of new casters won't give the advertised leg clearance when Mark 520 is lifted. Suggest locating rotating arm .500 inches toward rod center to clear wheel top cover. A longer guide pin might allow lift clearance and save relocating rotating arm and save changing caster assembly installation again. ShopSmith engineering should address this issue and provide customer satisfaction...
Name: Anthony
Location: Arkansas
Submitted on: 2012-01-09
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've got 2 Mark IVs and I put the new casters on one and left the other original. It is a drastic improvement! I'll be ordering a second set now. Fairly easy to install, took about an hour, maybe a less. One problem I do have though, when flipping the kick lever to raise or adjust, the lever drags on the new wheels sometimes, requiring bending over to clear with your hand. I may have to grind a little off the levers to gain some clearance. Instructions did not mention this being an issue. Both
Name: John
Location: Trenton,NJ
Submitted on: 2011-12-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
These are awesome! It rolls with a slight push! The old casters I had to push hard. Installation was a breeze; the hardest part was rolling it over. Installation took less than 30 minutes. If you have extension tubes, put them between the 2 tables, it provides an extra handle while inverting the machine. Also, put some towels in the legs before you remove the old casters. This prevents dropped bolts from getting lodged in the legs. This is money well spent! For a small cost you get a huge im
Name: gadzilla
Location: Texas
Submitted on: 2011-12-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing difference! Only problem: had to grind about 1/8" off the end of both long cam lever pedals to get them to clear the top plate of the casters. Smith now rolls effortlessly, even over chip laden floor.
Name: jpretiredguy
Location: desoto,tx
Submitted on: 2011-12-08
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have a 520, had a 510 before. Both had the tiny wheels that any bump or piece of debris would stop the movement of the machine dead in its tracks. I do most of my work on a wood deck in front of my shop and it was a real problem getting the shopsmith in and out. Not my other machine, because they had nice big wheels not little 1950 wheels like my shopsmith. Hey, now my shopsmith has 21st. century wheels and its a rolling machine. I love 'em.
Name: pbednar
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Submitted on: 2011-09-27
Rating: 3 out of 5
The casters do work well, after modifying to fit correctly. The paper template I received was off. The holes were 1/4" to 3/8" too low. You are suppose to align the template based on the old holes, which I did, but they did not work since the machine barely got up after pushing the power stand lever to it's highest position. In addition, the foot levers on the power stand would hit the new wheel top, so I had to grind off some of the lever so it would miss the wheel.
Name: Dick
Location: California
Submitted on: 2011-09-27
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great idea. You should have come up with this 30 years ago. My Mark V is sooooo easy to move now.Your templates are not accurate. They did not line up with existing holes which caused problems getting new holes in correct position.

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- (937) 890-5197.

Call before 4:00 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

First Name: Last Name:
Address:
Optional Extra Address Line:

City: ST: Zip:


Email:
Re-Enter Email Address:
Phone: ( ) -

NO - I do not yet own a MARK 7 or Mark V
YES - I own a MARK 7 or Mark V

Submit