Shopsmith Product - User Reviews

556177 - PowerPro Upgr Kit

Owners selecting the Do-It-Yourself Upgrade option will receive a New PowerPro Motor, all electronic circuitry, Digital Control Panel, New Two-Bearing Quill, New Upper Drive Sleeve Assembly, new Poly-V Belts and new Cord... all for self-installation in your current Mark V headstock. In addition, you will receive a printed Upgrade Manual, an Upgrade DVD and all necessary drillng templates, drill guide and bit for precise machining of the mounting holes for the new components. It is estimated that the Upgrade process should require approximately four hours to complete. If you currently have newer Belts, Upper Drive Sleeve or a Two-Bearing Quill... in order to protect your Upgrade Warranty, you are required to replace them during the Upgrade process and keep your current parts as spares. Replacing all of these internal parts assures that all components of your upgraded headstock are up to today's high PowerPro standards.


Click Here For More Information on 556177 - PowerPro Upgr Kit

Name / RatingReview
Name: Majavis
Location: Iowa
Submitted on: 2014-08-22
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had obtained an old Shopsmith Mark V 510 and I spent a good deal of time on restoring it to working condition. Along the way, the old motor burnt up. (Okay, I admit it--I accidentally broke it.) I figured there was no better time to upgrade to the Power Pro motor. I watched the video, read the instructions, and got to work. I am *not* the most mechanically inclined (I did say I killed my first Shopsmith motor) and I did spend more than four hours, over the course of a couple days when I could find time to fiddle with it--but I did it! It is an awesome tool to work with and anybody can do the upgrade if they just take their time. You won't regret it!
Name: ron
Location: up state ny
Submitted on: 2014-08-05
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had previously bought the speed reducer and increaser but once I got the pro head stock there is no comparison let alone set-up time. I rebuilt the headstock myself along with the video which is excellent. It took me 4 hours as advertised.
Name: Craig
Location: Eastern Carolina
Submitted on: 2014-02-16
Rating: 5 out of 5
Superior quality! Instructions were straight forward and the DVD was very helpful; I'm very mechanically inclined, but I watched it a couple times to ensure I knew the procedure. I didn't keep track of my time - I didn't complete the upgrade all at once. However I would estimate it took around 4 hours. Anyone with typical shop tools and basic skills could easily complete the procedure. I also upgraded my 520 bench, so I effectively have a Mark 7 now. The PowerPro is an outstanding piece of gear. I'm very happy with everything.
Name: Woodio
Location: Connecticut
Submitted on: 2014-02-07
Rating: 5 out of 5
Shopsmith is amazing in that they still support their equipment that is 10, 20, and 30 years old. I just updated an early 80's Shopsmith! I'm very impressed with the PowerPro components and manual. I didn't bother to watch the 1-3/4 hour DVD, I just jumped in with the included instructions. The hardest part was driving the pin back into the headstock lock handle. (I think this was due to it being pinned off center at the factory.) The new motor runs quieter and stops quickly. I highly recommended that before you buy, sign up for Doug Reid's webinar and get a nice discount.
Name: Randy Schoel
Location: Harker Heights, TX
Submitted on: 2014-01-04
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! My DIY upgrade kit arrived in less than a week. Got it Friday, did the conversion that evening. Took about 4 hours. Would have been less, but I reinstalled the wedge blocks backards and did not discover my error until I had the motor installed. Written instructions were sufficient. Didn't bother with the DVD, but including it in the kit is a good idea for many. Had I watched it, I might have installed the wedge blocks correctly the first time. I had to file some of the edge of the casting down on the main housing so the new motor would seat properly and align with the new holes I drilled. The drill template was great. Now for the good stuff. I wear hearing aides, but remove them and use ear plugs when I work in the shop. Had I not seen the shaft spinning when I first started the unit, I would never had known it was running. This new motor is amazingly quiet and smooth, even at high speeds. Can't wait to really start making saw dust. Good job Shopsmith!
Name: Dan
Location: Washington State
Submitted on: 2013-12-24
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had the PowerPro motor installed for several months and it's performance is excellent. I burned up my old motor and after several weeks of reading the specifications and reviews on the PowerPro I decide to bite the bullet and spend the extra money, three times more than what I paid for my used Shopsmith (I got a good buy). It was worth every dime, quiet, powerfully, nice features and easy to use. For me, it took about 6 hours to install including watching the video and stepping through the instructions, which are easy to follow. Great job Shopsmith on the PowerPro and associated instructions.
Name: Donald Voigt
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Submitted on: 2013-11-15
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best decision I made in a long time. Worked perfectly right out the box (new unit), only wish my old head had value. I do alot of turning and love that it operates so quietly, the variable speed down to 250 is greatly appreciated along with reveres for sanding. Only wish I had ordered mine when they first came out. Good Job Shopsmith I highly recommend....:)
Name: John Hatfield
Location: Illinois
Submitted on: 2013-11-14
Rating: 5 out of 5
Placed the new Power Pro in my 1957 Mark V. Works great. Just follow the instructions and watch the video and the install is fun and easy. Just love my new old Mark V.
Name: TAP
Location: Seattle
Submitted on: 2013-11-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
I chose to install the upgrade myself to save money. The DVD was more helpful than the manual, which had very poor graphics, and some erroneous information. Between the two, and with a little tweaking of the procedure, I was able to complete the job without too much grief. I'm very happy with the enhanced performance and ease of use, and I'm glad I upgraded. I love the wide speed range (fun to show off to friends - especially as the speed winds up to maximum!). My only real complaints involve some prompts that aren't optimally worded or formatted for the display.
Name: Rick
Location: Westport WI
Submitted on: 2013-07-15
Rating: 5 out of 5
The PP upgrade was the best tool decision I've made since I bought my Mark V in 1974. I chose the DIY option and by taking my time I had no trouble completing the upgrade without difficulty. The combination of an instructional video and printed directions provide a detailed understanding of each step of the process making the conversion easier than I expected. Now, the smooth, quiet operation, added power, and speed versatility have turned my Mark V into a dream to use.
Name: Ken
Location: Greeley, CO
Submitted on: 2013-05-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've used the upgraded unit, so far, mostly for wood turning. It's really nice to have the reverse feature for sanding the turned item. I had considered running a 240 volt line to gain the extra horsepower, but decided it's not needed. Nice to know the option is available if I change my mind later. The DIY option was the ONLY one I considered.
Name: Grabowy
Location: C.T
Submitted on: 2013-04-11
Rating: 5 out of 5
Name: Fred
Location: Springfield, IL
Submitted on: 2013-03-23
Rating: 5 out of 5
My old unit decided to trip breaker under load so I opted to make the upgrade rather than try to get motor fixed. I'm not sure how long upgrade took, as I was having some back problems and spread it over several days. I watched DVD several times prior to start and do NOT agree about the "poor quality". I found the whole process easy and I was 78 years old at the time. No major projects since but pleased with new power and control.
Name: Michael Schutz
Location: Woodbury, MN
Submitted on: 2013-02-25
Rating: 5 out of 5
I received a notice that ShopSmith was doing a demo at our local Lowes store. I went to it and was impressed be the smoothness of the new motor, even at 9500 RPM's. My Shop Smith was still in great condition, but I decided to jump in. I went home and brought my wife back to see the demo. She said "get it". I recieved the kit in less than a week. I watched the video, took the manual to the shop and 5 1/2 hours later it was running. Next project is kitchen cupboards. Oh, I also h
Name: Mike O
Location: Omaha, NE
Submitted on: 2013-02-24
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently completed upgrading my Mark V to Mark 7 choosing to upgrade the headstock myself and install the double tilt base at the same time. Taking my time it took me about 6 to seven hours to complete the project including getting all of the old sawdust from places you usually never see. The instruction manual and video were very well done and easy to follow. The only deviation I did to the process outlined was drill the new hole for the power cord by attaching two scrap 2â X 2&aci
Name: Al S.
Location: Raritan, NJ
Submitted on: 2013-02-23
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just completed upgrade; took 6:24hr without rushing and not all in one go. Prepared by viewing video 3 times and reading manual twice. Whole process went smoothly, the only hitches being stubborn bearings. To drill out the new power cord location I used multuple drills up to 1/2" then a step drill, all at slow-ish speed with oil. I did clamp the motor pan to the bench, and added clamps on either side to prevent the shape from flattening. Upgraded machine works Great! No more speed con
Name: sgtpreston
Location:
Submitted on: 2013-02-19
Rating: 3 out of 5
dvd was poorly done and very poor quality. for the 3/4 hole i used an air grinder and grinding cone. much easier than trying to file the hole that large.
Name: D Melonson CONT
Location: Buffalo NY
Submitted on: 2012-12-04
Rating: 4 out of 5
a high temp alert on the control unit. I immediately shut off the unit and opened to allow to cool. The unit recovered and after questioning customer support found out this was a known problem. I still would recommend this upgrade, just disappointed this was not presented by shopsmith. Now I open the unit when doing high RPM work to allow to cool. Did not experiance this at lower RPM 5000RPM.
Name: D Melonson
Location: Buffalo NY
Submitted on: 2012-12-04
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this upgrade 11/29/12, It took me around 4 hours to perform the upgrade, Shopsmith did an excellent job with the DVD and written directions. The unit runs smoother and operation is nice in that you do not have to turn the speed dial up and down when turning off the unit after working at high RPM (routing, jointer work etc). However, one big annoyance it that will working for about an hour in my basement around 70F with the RPM around 9000 RPM (routing) I received
Name: CP
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Submitted on: 2012-11-07
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am very happy with the Shopsmith Power Pro Upgrade. I chose the do-it-yourself option and found that the DVD and written instructions were very clear and easy to follow. It did take me a little more than four hours however because I was checking each procedure carefully before going on to the next step. What a difference in the performance of my 33+ year old Shopsmith! This is well worth the investment! Just like a brand new machine!
Name: AEM
Location: Workshop
Submitted on: 2012-08-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought one of the first ones and bought a second one at a demo recently. The power of this new technology DVR motor is almost unreal and it uses about half the power my old AC induction motor did without tripping circuit breakers anymore! Every major function of the Shopsmith has been improved as a result- especially the shaper and router functions since a speed increaser is no longer required to reach 10,000 RPM . Now if it would only make ice cream...
Name: John D McCray
Location: USA
Submitted on: 2012-07-16
Rating: 5 out of 5
The do it yourself demo was a bit to fast and not clear enough to make me want to do it. While I cannot afford to do the mod just now it looks like something to accomplish in the future.
Name: Robert Z
Location:
Submitted on: 2012-06-09
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical to do the upgrade myself. After watching the DVD and reading the instructions it was a snap. I was using it the next day. The difference in power is day and night. The upgrade is very well thought out, just like the Shopsmith. I applaud you for this achievement.
Name: E-GAD
Location: Delaware, OH
Submitted on: 2012-05-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great job Shopsmith!! I Love this upgrade for my MK-V. I viewed the video, then read the manual. I have a B series casting built in the early 80's. The step-by-step procedures in the manual were spot on. The only deviation was making the enlarged hole for the power cord. I marked the circle then center punched and drilled many 1/16" holes. Removed the washer like piece and smoothed with rasp. The concentric needed a shot of liquid wrench to aid in removal. Super!!
Name: E-GAD
Location: Delaweare, OH
Submitted on: 2012-05-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
Super product. Smooth running and quiet. 9500RPM is louder but quieter than my router at that speed. Watched the video then used the step-by-step procedures in the manual. All went well. Rather than using a rasp to file the new power cord hole, I drilled many small holes around the outline of the 3/4" hole then reamed them out and did final finishing with the rasp. Belt tension and balancing went well. Minor omission is a plug for the old cord hole.
Name: Tim
Location: San Antonio, TX
Submitted on: 2012-04-17
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had the new Power head for roughly 8 months and I use my Shopsmith more now than ever. The new Power Head is quieter and much easier to adjust for the proper speed. The motor is more powerful and the overall operation is much easier. I am very satisfied with the new Power Head....
Name: richard tucker
Location: madison, ms
Submitted on: 2012-04-05
Rating: 5 out of 5
pricing doesn't make sense. $370 difference in rebuilding mine verses get a complete new one?
Name: Tony
Location: NJ
Submitted on: 2012-04-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
Shopsmith hit a home run in my opinion with allowing users to perform the PowerPro upgrade. It allows us to save money and to see the differences between the 50+ year old sheave system and the modern DVR motor technology. I don't think the original designers ever realized the Mark V headstock design would one day enclose such a powerful motor with a 10,000 rpm speed. What other company can cite a 55+ year backwards compatibility? Way to go Shopsmith!
Name: Greg H.
Location: Forney, TX
Submitted on: 2012-03-12
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just completed the DIY Power Pro Upgrade. It was actually easier than I expected. Follow the instructions, take your time and there will be no problems. My Shopsmith sounds better now than it did when it was new. Ive had my Shopsmith since 1988, so they last a long time as long as you take care of it.
Name: Milt
Location: Kansas City
Submitted on: 2012-01-01
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've owned my Mark V since new, less than ten years ago, and use it mostly as a table saw. I was interested in the Powerpro because of the increase in brute force for sawing. I hesitated buying the upgrade without seeing it up close so when I witnessed the Powerpro mow through solid oak at a local demonstration I pulled the trigger and ordered it. I was impressed right away with the quality of the upgrade components and it was fun installing them. The video and instructions are very good.
Name: Joseph G
Location: Chicago IL
Submitted on: 2011-12-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I chose the do it yourself option because I just could not stand the thought of discarding my old friend of 30 years, my Mark V, or having someone else work on it and I also wanted to have a major part in the renovation. It took me about 10 hours over a weekend to complete the project. I literally stopped every step to look at the video, consult my upgrade manual and look at the excellent color photos on ReviewBoard.com. Even then, I had to try many steps more than a few times to get everything
Name: Bags
Location: Texas
Submitted on: 2011-11-14
Rating: 5 out of 5
Step-by-step instruction, DVD,& jig made up-grade easy, no special tools needed. / Have rebuilt my garage, ripping lots of lumber and turned several bowl. Headstock still very quiet and vibration free plus more power. I put a penny on the saw table and turned the speed up to 10,000 rpm and the penny stayed! Try that with your Mark5.
Name: Ernest Kouba
Location: Trimble Ohio
Submitted on: 2011-10-08
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just used my upgraded Shopsmith for a routing job I had. A quieter router I've NEVER owned or used. All other operations are just as amazing. Simple setups, lots of power,quiet operation, what more could a woodworker ask for? A new Shopsmith for less than half pric. WAY less since I installed the upgrade myself. Way to go, Shopsmith!
Name: KB
Location: Englewood, OH
Submitted on: 2011-09-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
The PowerPro was the best investment I have made for my Shopsmith. It solves the two main issues I had...table saw power and bandsaw 'resaw' power. The PowerPro really excels in these two areas...it is a HUGE difference! The DIY upgrade was also very easy with the DVD.
Name: RRL
Location: Wallingford,Ct.
Submitted on: 2011-09-13
Rating: 3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with the DVD but not the up grade itself. (1) It talks about saftey and the person was wearing shorts. (2) He could have asked a friend to adjust the camera instead of stopping and doing it himself. (3) Drilling the 3/4 hole in the pan is easy with the proper tool, unibit. (4) To spend this much money on something and produce a video with out a scripe or rehearsal is just lazy. (5) The counter sink didnt come with a metric allen and spun out. However I got it done and am
Name: WLC
Location:
Submitted on: 2011-09-06
Rating: 5 out of 5
This upgrade takes the Shopsmith Mark 5 to a new level. The upgrade is easy to install, the DVD is a must before attemping the installation. The motor is smooth, easy to adjust & powerful; it's well worth the investment.
Name: Brev
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Submitted on: 2011-08-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great conversion. Sound level difference between this drive and the MARKV head is unbelievable. I have to turn it on and marvel at the quietness of this package. Good job Shopsmith. Frank B.
Name: Steve
Location: Texas
Submitted on: 2011-08-19
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have a type B headstock and the upgrade went very well. I would watch the a video segment, read the upgrade text and then perform the operation on my headstock. When attaching the motor, I was uncomfortable with leaving the 3/4" machine screw threads exposed on back screw which supports the control electronics at the front of the headstock. This is adjacent to where the wires come out of the control module. I wrapped the threads with a layer of nylon tape, and then one of electrical tape
Name: Peter
Location: NJ
Submitted on: 2011-08-08
Rating: 3 out of 5
I consider myself fairly competent, but the final parts of this were a challenge! First, DON'T read the manual -- watch the video FIRST and THEN read the manual. It will make more sense. Second, don't believe everything you read and hear. They tell you that you can use the switch on C headstocks. Mine had only 2 connection posts, and while I would've LOVED to reuse it as it had the safety "key" I couldn't reuse it and had to go with the ugly black one they sent.
Name: Peter
Location: NJ
Submitted on: 2011-08-08
Rating: 3 out of 5
continued... Be careful center punching for the new holes -- I cracked my casting (not bad, but it's there). The bottom of my casting was also bent, so when I used the drilling template bar it worked GREAT, but the holes eventually didn't align at all and I had to use a round file to adjust them to get it all to align. In all it took me 2 long days of work, trial and fiddling -- with help. Oh, and don't do this on a weekend! I forgot technical support is closed then!
Name: Jps
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Submitted on: 2011-06-11
Rating: 5 out of 5
Did the do-it-yourself upgrade to my Mark V. Like others here, I watched the DVD and read the manual a couple of times before gathering tools to set to. I had the DVD playing while I did the work, which was a great help. One thing I did differently was to cut the new strain relief hole by drilling a series of 1/8" holes just inside the perimeter of the new strain relief hole. I knocked out the inside of the circle, then I filed the hole to size. Great upgrade!
Name: TWK
Location:
Submitted on: 2011-01-12
Rating: 5 out of 5
I read the instruction manual & watched the DVD a couple of times before doing-it-myself! I also watched the DVD in a portable DVD player as I proceeded step-by-step. I took my time & it was very easy making the change over to the new hardware. After final assembly & a final waxing of tubes & tables, I was like a kid in a candy store! The ease of operation was remarkable. It's nice to see Shopsmith took some time to develop this upgrade. It's like owning a new machine!
Name: CJS
Location:
Submitted on: 2011-01-07
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my PowerPro upgrade. I was able to do the DIY upgrade with no problems and I, too, recommend viewing the DVD before starting the upgrade process. I find that I use the built in speed chart often. I like the extended RPM range and I have yet to bog down during sawing operations or pop the circuit breaker. Customer service has been outstanding, too.
Name: TLS
Location:
Submitted on: 2011-01-03
Rating: 5 out of 5
Upgrade was easier to do with the DVD as the guide. I really appreciate and thank the gentleman who did the replacement demo. A few of the steps were not as easy as demonstrated but I realize that my Mark V is from 1974 and slight variations do make a difference. I really love the upgrade, power, quiet and soft start of the motor. My Mark V now looks brand new. I have taken good care of it and the motor upgrade fits with the latest technology. I am very happy with the product. TLS
Name: R C B
Location:
Submitted on: 2010-11-17
Rating: 5 out of 5
The do-it- yourself was very user friendly , the written instructions along with the DVD made each step by step easy to follow . I love the new PowerPro .With the built in chart , there is no guessing on what speed is needed . Great job Shopsmith !

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart


Copyright © 2014 Shopsmith All rights reserved.

Products

Shopsmith - Your Lifetime Woodworking Partner
background
Shopping Cart

Shopping
Cart