phone  (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

555924 - MARK V Standard

Name / RatingReview
Name: NOLAN LAIN
Location: MIDWAY GA
Submitted on: 2017-01-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got my MARK V in the late 1980's, I also got the Band saw attachment at that time. The MARK V is a great tool system. I have used it for small and large woodworking projects. Built several wooden fixtures to make large project work easier. All of the functions work great.
Name: Hugh
Location: Saint Marys Ga
Submitted on: 2016-09-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first experience with Shopsmith was in 1951 when I was in High School. Montgomery Ward was the outlet in my home town in Connecticut, the store manager wanted someone to explains how the tool was used. I was picked from my class to demonstrate how this new tool is used. Do to circumstances with my military obligation and work I was not able to purchase my own until 1993, it has never failed me and has many hundreds of hours on it. Many great projects have been created on it and I have been able to do some metal turning work also. This is one of the best investments I have ever made. Highly recommend this tool to all woodworkers,you will never regret it.
Name: Ken
Location: SD
Submitted on: 2016-01-10
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my Mark V in 1979 and have never needed to repair it. I had not used the jigsaw in years, so took it apart and cleaned it up after it sat in high humidity through a flood. This 37 year old machine worked beautifully. I just finished some projects using leftovers from remodeling after said flood and made a few hundred dollars worth of items that cost essentially nothing but my time and a little stain and varnish. It has paid for itself over and over. I recommend it without hesitation.
Name: Gary
Location: Brunswick, Ga
Submitted on: 2015-11-08
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my Mark V in 1982. My first major project was a set of kitchen cabinets I built out of cypress for a house I built in 1983. The cabinet doors were five-part raised panel. This project paid for my Shopsmith. Although I don't own the house anymore, I know the cabinets are still in use today in 2015. My Mark V is still going strong. Best tool investment I ever made.
Name: Timothy Smith
Location: United States
Submitted on: 2015-08-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought a shop smith from a friend and it is called a greenie and I love making stuff out of wood and I am trying to find some plans to build some jon boats and I dont know where to look up the books for boats can some one please help me with it
Name: Brad
Location: Manheim PA
Submitted on: 2015-01-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
For ten years I used an old 1953 Mark V that I bought from my father. Built a boat with it as well as other items. Getting ready for retirement, I bought a more "modern" Shopsmith, a 1997 Model 510. In Shopsmith world I consider an 18 year old machine almost new. I have upgraded it to 520 and upgraded the bandsaw with accessories. My total shop storage area in my garage is less than 10 ft. by less than 5 ft. In that space the Shopsmith lives, all tools, and a full size workbench. It all rolls out into the garage, including the dust collector. Without a Shopsmith I could not do power wood working since I don't have he space. Instead, I have the 5 functions of the Mark V, I have the bandsaw, jointer, and planer. I have the support and education from Shopsmith, something nearly unknown in the modern world. What a great company.
Name: Aaron Miller
Location: Peoria, IL
Submitted on: 2015-01-20
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm a 3rd generation Shopsmith user and my father and I still use the heck out of his father's 1950's era Mark V. Today it ate it's second gramble belt in 50+ years. Thankfully, parts support for this tool is excellent. There are many speaker cabinets floating around the Peoria, IL area that were cut on this machine.
Name: Bill Head
Location: Cataula, Ga
Submitted on: 2014-11-21
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought a used Mark 500 in 2005 and have up-graded it to a 510 and it is doing good and I love it. I would like to have a 520 and be able to buy the pivoteding base so I can rout both ways. I like the table system on the 520. I realy do know if I want the power pro because I don't have 220 in my shop because it cost to much to have it rewired. I use my band saw alot because I have made alot of porch swings and out door furniture. I'am, Retired and disabled so I have time to work in my shop
Name: Mitch
Location: Port Angeles Wa.
Submitted on: 2014-10-28
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought a Shopsmith 510 25 yrs ago. Today it finally died. Hopefully I can fix the motor or what ever is wrong with it. It has been my most valued tool in metal and wood shop use. I use it everyday. I make my living with it and I hope I can resurrect my valued friend. If I can't I will buy another. It's the best and most used tool in my shop over the past 25 yrs of metal fabrication and wood work. Even better and more usefully then any of my Milling machines and Lathes.
Name: David Farmer
Location: Saint Paul Mn
Submitted on: 2014-10-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have dad the 510 sence 1984 with most of the attachments, I bought the PowerPro last year it is really great machine now. I had to make my own car siding, out of PVC 6"x8' siding , which has a toung with 1 1/2" cove and grove, 8' long to put on the bottom edge of my 100 year old garage.

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- 1-937-890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

First Name: Last Name:
Address:
Optional Extra Address Line:

City: ST: Zip:


Email:
Re-Enter Email Address:
Phone: ( ) -

NO - I do not yet own a MARK 7 or Mark V
YES - I own a MARK 7 or Mark V

Submit