phone  (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

555204 - Sharpening Guide

Sharpening+Guide

Sharpening Guide puts a sharp cutting edge on your chisels. We've eliminated sharpening guesswork by developing a guide that lets you put a super sharp cutting edge on all your chisels-lathe and bench types.


Click Here For More Information on 555204 - Sharpening Guide

Name / RatingReview
Name: Don
Location: Cincinnati
Submitted on: 2017-12-13
Rating: 1 out of 5
I placed an order for the sharpen guide 5 weeks ago and within a few minutes of placing the order I was informed the item was on back order. Why was the item not shown on back order when I was placing the order. I have now checked my order status and called multiple times to get a status on when the sharpening guide would be sent and I can get no information from Shopsmith other than than the item should be available anytime. I would be careful ordering anything from Shopsmith. This is not like the Shopsmith company from 20 years ago where customer service was important.
Name: Jon M
Location: Chicagoland
Submitted on: 2017-03-25
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very satisfied with this sharpening guide for use with lathe chisels. As a beginner with wood turning (and maintenance of its tools) I was able to refurbish the edges on my own and my son's 8-piece chisel sets, both grossly overdue for resharpening. Gouges, skews, and parting tools are particularly straightforward-- once you figure out the technique beyond the somewhat confusing instructions. I did not recognize any instructions for the beveled parting tool, and I did not find any guide station made specifically for one. However, I found a solid way to grind both bevels flat at their native angles and meet straight at their interface. The smaller parting tool station is made for waisted profiles; it was trickier to use it with my son's flat- shafted one. With practice I obtained great grinds on the thumbnail tool. I attempted to sharpen a 1/2" bench chisel without much success. Perhaps a longer chisel would be much easier. In the case of mine, I could not grind a single flat bevel and yielded instead a very subtle double-bevel sloping in each direction from the midline toward the lateral margins of the chisel face. I will prefer my manual Veritas guides for bench chisels. Still, for the effective and repeatable results I get with turning chisels I feel the guide is a good purchase.
Name: Stephen
Location: Bellevue, NE
Submitted on: 2017-02-26
Rating: 5 out of 5
I find this works just terrific on my PowerPro with my Shopsmith Belt Sander attached to it. I have a 120 grit, 220 grit, and 320 grit aluminum oxide belts. I set the speed to 500 rpm and there is no burning or over heating when I sharpen my lathe chisels and bench chisels. The belt sander is set up vertically with the table horizontally. Table tilt is -9 degrees for bench chisels and 0 degrees for all lathe chisels. The sharpening guide fits right in the table slot. This is mentioned in the manual for the sharpening guide but most people do not see it. The belt sander is much better because there is a wider range of grits available from Shopsmith. Shopsmith sanding discs only go up to 150 grit.
Name: Ron
Location: Sacramento
Submitted on: 2016-05-10
Rating: 5 out of 5
I do not know why anyone would give this Sharpening Guide a bad rating. It works exactly as it was designed to do. It puts a quick edge on Shopsmith's lathe chisels with the proper angle. If your chisel is so short that the handle hits the Guide it should be replaced. Making the quide shorter to handle a short chisel would make it more difficult to maintain the angle while sharpening.
Name: Mick
Location: Arizona
Submitted on: 2015-09-16
Rating: 3 out of 5
I recall the designer was shooting for a guide to sharpen Shopsmith lathe tools and the occasional bench chisel. For that purpose I rate it highly. However, my expectations were for a general purpose sharpening guide. For short chisels, hand carving gouges, and other sharpening needs, it falls woefully short. I'd like to see the same technology applied to an actual "general purpose" guide. I'd buy one.
Name: Don
Location: Az.
Submitted on: 2014-03-03
Rating: 1 out of 5
I find the instructions are hard to follow and it is hard to use. A bench grinder worksmuch better.
Name: vhaas
Location: New Jersey
Submitted on: 2013-12-22
Rating: 4 out of 5
I used this after watching Nick Engler's and Doug Reid's video tutorials on its use, and they helped me make much better use of the tool than the printed instructions did. I've never been able to get a consistent grind against a bench grinder without extensive jigging. I give it a "4/5"
Name: W. Vandewark
Location: CA
Submitted on: 2012-08-27
Rating: 2 out of 5
I perched the sharpening guide and was not satisfied with the instructions adn the ability to sharpen gouges in the square cradle. I retrofitted the guide with a piece of PVC pipe cut on an angle that matched the guide. This works much smoother in rolling the gouge to produce an even grind. Shopsmith should re think their design.
Name: Don Voigt
Location:
Submitted on: 2012-04-14
Rating: 2 out of 5
Disappointed in clarity of instructions. My chisels have been sharpened several times before, they seem too short to use this sharpener. Wish I would of read the first review! Would NOT support recommending this product.
Name: Dave
Location: New Mexico
Submitted on: 2012-04-07
Rating: 2 out of 5
I bought this a few years ago for $50. I used it a few times and bought a grinder which I wish I had done first. The quality of the shopsmith guide doesn't come close to a simple bench grinder. The guide area is too short so the tools wobble against the disk. The tool handle bottoms out against the guide body so you wont be able to sharpen too many times before the tools wont contact the disk. The disk doesn't run true enough for this guide to be very useful.

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- 1-937-890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

First Name: Last Name:
Address:
Optional Extra Address Line:

City: ST: Zip:


Email:
Re-Enter Email Address:
Phone: ( ) -

NO - I do not yet own a MARK 7 or Mark V
YES - I own a MARK 7 or Mark V

Submit