phone  (937) 890-5197

Shopsmith Product -- User Reviews

503574 - Power Coupler

Power+Coupler

Shopsmith Power Coupler - coupler only


Click Here For More Information on 503574 - Power Coupler

Name / RatingReview
Name: Jeff Murray
Location: Greenwood, IN
Submitted on: 2017-12-27
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my Shopsmith in 1983 and I have used the same coupler without any problems. I have resawn up to the full capacity of hickory, maple and box wood, just to name a few hardwoods and had absolutely no problems what so ever. This same coupler has also been used with my other attachments; jointer, belt sander and strip sander
Name: DJS
Location: Canton GA
Submitted on: 2016-11-07
Rating: 2 out of 5
I bought my Shopsmith in 1972 and the bandsaw in 1987. I have used both extensively and with the original Power Coupler all was well. The original coupler finally gave up the ghost after 35 years and I have bought the "new" replacements. The problem is they consistently break with bandsaw use. I have checked the alignment and it is fine. When I called Customer Support they had the temerity to tell me they had never heard of the problem with breakage and the bandsaw. What gives? This new coupler is a cheap piece of plastic sold at exorbitant cost. Does anyone know of a reliable aftermarket alternative?
Name: Scott
Location: 98661
Submitted on: 2016-05-29
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought my machine in 1978 when I was 16 and I wondered about it at first, but I've never had to replace it. Some individuals have stripped or twisted theirs on the bandsaw would make sense since it would have the highest torque load of the attachments due to the diameter of the driver wheel. Try turning the bandsaw by hand and then the jointer and note the difference in resistance then a immediately turn the jointer and you understand
Name: Allen
Location: Utah
Submitted on: 2016-03-29
Rating: 1 out of 5
Overpriced and cheaply made, they break often. Not a good product for any kind of hardwood over three quarters thick. Some folks have written they have used theirs for years; they must be working with 1/4 in. plywood. I have to order two at a time to always have a spare. Today I lost both, cutting four quarter walnut. So I am dead in the water for a week or so and out $45 bucks; again.
Name: Timothy
Location: horton kansas
Submitted on: 2015-11-18
Rating: 5 out of 5
i never herd of couplers breaking and futher more if you use a metal one then you could get hurt or damage the machine so think of it this away you could save your life and use a level to line the two machines up to be inline with the coupler i use a ruler level to see if mine is in line with each other then i hook the coupler up as i slide the two together so please try this method and see if the coupler works longer
Name: Bob
Location: Syracuse, NY
Submitted on: 2014-11-22
Rating: 2 out of 5
The only attachment that breaks my couplers is the bandsaw. I break at least one whenever I have to use the bandsaw for a significant amount (Linear sawing distance). Maybe it gets hot and fails? ?I may find a better method for the bandsaw.
Name: RJM
Location: South Carolina
Submitted on: 2014-03-09
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had my Shopsmith 510 almost nine years before my coupler went out. It didn't break, the inside of the headstock end stripped out so it won't drive anything. Definitely overpriced, but will be buying two of them to take advantage of the double pack pricing.
Name: CDarrell
Location: Swarthmore, PA
Submitted on: 2014-01-15
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my Mark V new in 1984. The original coupler just broke last week - Jan 2014. I think 30 years is a pretty decent run for a piece of plastic subjected to high torque. I am worried about buying a new one though, from the stories of folks getting failures within weeks or months - products end to get made cheaper, lighter, weaker over the years. Those of you suggesting making them out of metal need to read the comments about this being the weakest link intentionally. If the plastic didn't break when there was an issue, then some other, more expensive, part would.
Name: Lawrence Hansen
Location: Washington State
Submitted on: 2014-01-13
Rating: 4 out of 5
Power Coupler virtually unbreakable, except when they break. Colder temperatures, near freezing and while trying to remove from bandsaw it broke into pieces. It was about twenty years old at the time.
Name: STJ
Location: Arizona
Submitted on: 2013-12-18
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've owned a Mark V for close to 30 yrs. and although I no longer use it as a table saw or jointer, It's still the tool I use for machine drilling, disc sanding, band sawing, turning, boring, et al. Mine is a professional shop, and my Mark V gets plenty of use. Having said that, I'm curious as to what other woodworkers are doing to break their couplers. Im also looking to purchase a new coupler, but only because I accidentally broke the one I've hand since my original purchase. So I ask, are the newer ones of lesser quality, or have they been subjected to abuse. Knowing how important that small piece of equipment is, I take real good care of mine.
Name: rickman167
Location: Winlock, WA
Submitted on: 2013-11-26
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've owned my Shopsmith since 1979 and have never had a coupler break. However, since it is so old I decided to purchase a new one, but the item listed states it is for 1985 and newer. Is there a difference and if so how do I get one that is compatible?
Name: Corvallis
Location: Corvallis Oregon
Submitted on: 2013-06-28
Rating: 3 out of 5
555124 only comes with drive hubs that go onto the motor side. You still need 503572 "Accessory Hub Assembly" to go onto the sander, bad saw side.
Name: dub
Location:
Submitted on: 2013-01-28
Rating: 1 out of 5
ever hear of a lovejoy coupler? they work great.
Name: JoshInDallas
Location:
Submitted on: 2013-01-16
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you are breaking these during operation, then be thankful it was made of plastic. If it was made of metal you would have injured yourself or your equipment. As stated below, align everything properly and they don't break.
Name: Tiim2Relax
Location:
Submitted on: 2012-12-06
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been using the same coupler for 3 years and never had a problem with it. I do think they are overpriced though. I would buy some spares if they were cheaper.
Name: dgale
Location: Arcata, CA
Submitted on: 2012-11-19
Rating: 5 out of 5
They are made out of plastic and not metal on purpose - the idea is that you would rather have the coupling break than your headstock or one of your accessories. When everything is properly aligned and functioning, the coupler will work flawlessly...if something binds up, this is designed to be the weak link and spare your equipment any costly damage. So if you're having problems breaking these, look into what's not set up or functioning properly.
Name: Chris Tyler
Location: Knoxville, TN
Submitted on: 2012-09-01
Rating: 2 out of 5
I bought a ShopSmith used and the power coupling broke on the first use. Be it that the coupling was older, it is definitely not unbreakable. The coupling should be made of metal, and there are a few online placest that offer metal ones. I will be buying one of these.
Name: john neafus
Location: jeffersonville, in
Submitted on: 2012-04-17
Rating: 1 out of 5
Very poor description of what is required and what you receive in the 555124 Kit. I bought it to power my band saw but it does not work as shipped. Customer service says I need to purchase an additional hub. When you click on "bandsaw" under products, then accessories, then power coupling, you get pointed to #555124 Kit. It does not work as shipped. John
Name: Elbert Reed
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Submitted on: 2012-02-29
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had the same coupler for 38 years and it is still in fine shape. Maybe the newer ones are not made as well.
Name: Kelly
Location: Montana
Submitted on: 2011-12-19
Rating: 1 out of 5
Spend 21 dollars plus for a piece of pvc with a spring in the center, lasts for about a dozen uses,then it breaks, then spend two days trying to order a new one as customer service recording says open 9 am to 5 pm eastern time. even tho they are suppose to be there the message continues on to say please call back at normal business times. When are normal business times, it for damn sure is not 9am to 5 pm monday through friday eastern time.
Name: pete lowder
Location: omaha, nebr
Submitted on: 2011-10-09
Rating: 3 out of 5
your unbreakable plastic couplers are not quite "unbreakable". they do break. that's why I'll be ordering a couple more. Maybe you need to make them out of metal.
Name: BL
Location: DELMONT, PA
Submitted on: 2011-07-14
Rating: 1 out of 5
I am constantly replacing these. They are definitely not as advertised " virtually indestructable ". The last time I ordered these I ordered 5 at a much lower price. My last one is installed and it is begining to twist like all the others. I guess when you are the only supplier of the coupler for your machine you have us over the barrel.Now, they are ridiculously priced at 22 a piece. Do you think I will be replacing my shopsmith in the future. NOT LIKELY !

Add Your Own Review... Create Review

Add This Item To Your Cart... add to cart

Order on the Web or by Phone, if you prefer -- 1-937-890-5197.

Call before 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Products

Welcome to Shopsmith. Please fill in this form and we'll send you more information about the Shopsmith MARK 7 and other woodworking topics.

First Name: Last Name:
Address:
Optional Extra Address Line:

City: ST: Zip:


Email:
Re-Enter Email Address:
Phone: ( ) -

NO - I do not yet own a MARK 7 or Mark V
YES - I own a MARK 7 or Mark V

Submit